iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad Apps Search Engine
iPhone Apps Users Community
Advanced search | Example: action games
iPhone apps

Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus

Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus
  • #: 124547
  • Price: $24.99 In Apple Store
  • Category: Books
  • Updated: 2009-12-01
  • Current Version: 1.03
  • 1.03
  • Size: 6.90 MB
  • Language: English
  • Seller: ScrollMotion, Inc
  • Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.0 or later
  • © Copyright ScrollMotion 2009
  •  Add to Favorite apps

 

Description

Under the Lemon Trees

Bhira Backhaus

St. Martin's Press

March 17, 2009

A beautifully written debut novel of a young Indian woman struggling between embracing her heritage and fitting in as an American

In Oak Grove, California, 1976, there are as many Sikh temples as Christian churches, the city council has prints announcements in both English and Punjabi and the large Indian immigrant community is gracefully coexists with the old farming families. But for 15-year-old Jeeto, figuring out where she fits best—and what she must do to find that fit—isn’t so easy.

Jeeto soon realizes that the women around her do far more than drink tea on balmy California afternoons—their traditions and religion give shape to fortune and destiny in a world of arranged marriages and strict family politics that force Jeeto to struggle with reconciling the possibilities of freedom and love.

In the tradition of Jhumpa Lahiri and Arundhati Roy, Under the Lemon Trees is poised to speak to this same audience in an historically successful market. A stellar debut from an acclaimed writer, this is a story about finding love and discovering a true home while navigating traditions, family and faith—part Bend it Like Beckham, part Monsoon Wedding, this is a cultural and romantic tour de force.

About the Author

None

About Iceberg

The Iceberg Reader revolutionizes the reading experience, making it easier than ever to browse, buy and enjoy books.

Features

- Attractive interface provides a natural reading experience with full pagination.

- Table of Contents incorporates one click navigation.

- Vertical and horizontal page orientation.

- Adjust font size with a pinch, text reflows automatically.

- Search the text within a book.

- Create margin notes with user notation.

About Macmillan

Macmillan in the US is a group of publishing companies in the United States held by Verlagsgruppe Georg von Holtzbrinck, which is based in Stuttgart, Germany. Our American publishers include Farrar Straus & Giroux, Henry Holt & Company, W.H. Freeman & Worth Publishers, Palgrave Macmillan, Bedford/St. *s, Picador, Roaring Brook Press, St. *s Press, Tor Books, & Bedford Freeman & Worth Publishing Group.

About Scrollmotion

ScrollMotion, creator of the Iceberg Reader, is a content technology company based in downtown New York City. For more information, visit www.scrollmotion.com.

Support

If you have any technical problems please email us at icebergsupport@scrollmotion.com before you post a review.

iPhone Screenshots

Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus iPhone Screenshot 1

Video Reviews

No video review.

Customer reviews

Write a Review

Be the first to review this app. Write a Review

Forum

Ask a question

Be the first question this app.

Users Community

+ Connect to community


The information may be outdated (2011-04-14 07:55:05). For actual information go to iTunes


Mobile Version
iApps4you.com - is iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad apps search engine and not been authorized, sponsored or approved by Apple Inc.
Copyright © 2017 iApps4you.com.
43 ms.