iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad Apps Search Engine
iPhone Apps Users Community
Advanced search | Example: action games
iPhone apps

Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus

Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus
  • #: 124547
  • Price: $24.99 In Apple Store
  • Category: Books
  • Updated: 2009-12-01
  • Current Version: 1.03
  • 1.03
  • Size: 6.90 MB
  • Language: English
  • Seller: ScrollMotion, Inc
  • Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.0 or later
  • © Copyright ScrollMotion 2009
  •  Add to Favorite apps

 

Description

Under the Lemon Trees

Bhira Backhaus

St. Martin's Press

March 17, 2009

A beautifully written debut novel of a young Indian woman struggling between embracing her heritage and fitting in as an American

In Oak Grove, California, 1976, there are as many Sikh temples as Christian churches, the city council has prints announcements in both English and Punjabi and the large Indian immigrant community is gracefully coexists with the old farming families. But for 15-year-old Jeeto, figuring out where she fits best—and what she must do to find that fit—isn’t so easy.

Jeeto soon realizes that the women around her do far more than drink tea on balmy California afternoons—their traditions and religion give shape to fortune and destiny in a world of arranged marriages and strict family politics that force Jeeto to struggle with reconciling the possibilities of freedom and love.

In the tradition of Jhumpa Lahiri and Arundhati Roy, Under the Lemon Trees is poised to speak to this same audience in an historically successful market. A stellar debut from an acclaimed writer, this is a story about finding love and discovering a true home while navigating traditions, family and faith—part Bend it Like Beckham, part Monsoon Wedding, this is a cultural and romantic tour de force.

About the Author

None

About Iceberg

The Iceberg Reader revolutionizes the reading experience, making it easier than ever to browse, buy and enjoy books.

Features

- Attractive interface provides a natural reading experience with full pagination.

- Table of Contents incorporates one click navigation.

- Vertical and horizontal page orientation.

- Adjust font size with a pinch, text reflows automatically.

- Search the text within a book.

- Create margin notes with user notation.

About Macmillan

Macmillan in the US is a group of publishing companies in the United States held by Verlagsgruppe Georg von Holtzbrinck, which is based in Stuttgart, Germany. Our American publishers include Farrar Straus & Giroux, Henry Holt & Company, W.H. Freeman & Worth Publishers, Palgrave Macmillan, Bedford/St. *s, Picador, Roaring Brook Press, St. *s Press, Tor Books, & Bedford Freeman & Worth Publishing Group.

About Scrollmotion

ScrollMotion, creator of the Iceberg Reader, is a content technology company based in downtown New York City. For more information, visit www.scrollmotion.com.

Support

If you have any technical problems please email us at icebergsupport@scrollmotion.com before you post a review.

iPhone Screenshots

Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus iPhone Screenshot 1

Video Reviews

No video review.

Customer reviews

Write a Review

Be the first to review this app. Write a Review

Forum

Ask a question

Be the first question this app.

Users Community

+ Connect to community


The information may be outdated (2011-04-14 07:55:05). For actual information go to iTunes

Related to «Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus» applications

Under The Liberty Tree: A Story Of The Boston Massacre

Under The Liberty Tree: A Story Of The Boston Massacre

Under The Liberty Tree: A Story Of The Boston Massacreby James OtisLinked Contents and footnotes.Illustrations.CONTENTSI. The Liberty TreeII. First FruitsIII. Liberty HallIV. A Discomfited CreditorV. A Night of TerrorVI. After the MassacreFor an author bio, photo and a sample read, visit www… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Entertainment
Under The Rain Tree

Under The Rain Tree

Under The Rain Treeby Vatsala Balachandran WarrierThe stories in this collection span continents, traverse time and enter the realms of fantasy. But they are rooted in this world, which sustains us all. These are tales of men and women caught in the play of time and the dilemmas of life. They make… more

Price: $3.99 | Category: Lifestyle
Under The Christmas Tree

Under The Christmas Tree

TOP FREE APP IN THE ITALIAN APP STORE IN CATEGORIES GAMES KIDS AND GAMES EDUCATION What will your children find under the Christmas tree among their gifts? Do not forget to give to your kids, struggling with the first words, Under the Christmas tree sound cardsWith Under the Christmas tree… more

Price: free | Category: Games
Dexter Penny & Cat Friends - Cute Kittens Play Under The Christmas Tree - Holiday Edition

Dexter Penny & Cat Friends - Cute Kittens Play Under The Christmas Tree -…

A Special Christmas Gift - Meet the six CUTEST KITTENS everSimple & Insanely FUN - A fast paced game for animal lovers of all ages.Join Dexter, Penny and friends as they get ready for the holiday Play under the Christmas tree with super cool levels, while you fall in love with your new… more

Price: free | Category: Games
Under the Black Ensign by L. Ron Hubbard

Under the Black Ensign by L. Ron Hubbard

Under the Black Ensign L. Ron Hubbard Galaxy PressSeptember 1, 2008Tom Bristol's career as first mate of the Maryland barque Randolph abruptly ends during shore leave when he is press-ganged into serving aboard the British HMS Terror. Toil under the cruel whip of England is merciless: Crew… more

Price: $2.99 | Category: Books
Song of the Redwood-Tree by Walt Whitman

Song of the Redwood-Tree by Walt Whitman

This application is a collection of the poems of Walt Whitman. more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
The Upas Tree, by Florence L. Barclay

The Upas Tree, by Florence L. Barclay

The Upas Treeby Florence L. BarclayA Christmas Story for all the Year.About Barclay: Florence Louisa Barclay (December 2, 1862 - March 10, 1921) was an English romance novelist and short story writer. She was born Florence Louisa Charlesworth in Limpsfield, Surrey, England, the daughter of the… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
I am a princess - under lemon tree

I am a princess - under lemon tree

The girl loves trees and beautiful clothes.Dress her upHow to play:Players need to collect coins first, then they can go to the shop to buy their favorite clothes and other accessories. After that they can dress up the doll Remember you just need time to get more coins It is freeFeatures… more

Price: free | Category: Games
Under the Trees and Elsewhere

Under the Trees and Elsewhere

Television and computers may be chief source of entertainment in today's fast-paced society, but classic literature will never die. These are the works that have withstood the test of time, captivating us and giving us insight into the true nature of the human condition."The spontaneous… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books

View all related to: Under the Lemon Trees by Bhira Backhaus applications



Mobile Version
iApps4you.com - is iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad apps search engine and not been authorized, sponsored or approved by Apple Inc.
Copyright © 2017 iApps4you.com.
110 ms.